APGA Safety Contest

APGA Safety Contest 

The APGA Safety Contest is an annual award given out to APGA public natural gas system members for their dedication to keeping their employees safe every day on every job. Entries for the 2021 APGA Safety Contest closed on May 7, 2020. All APGA public gas system members are eligible to enter this contest.

Contestants shall be divided into the following groups based on the annual number of man-hours worked:

  • Group A = 8,000 or less man-hours
  • Group B = 8,001 to 18,000 man-hours
  • Group C = 18,001 to 38,000 man-hours
  • Group D = 38,001 to 70,000 man-hours
  • Group E = 70,001 or more man-hours

The winner of each group will be calculated based on total man-hours worked and the number of recordable injury or illness cases from January 1 to December 31 of the 2020 calendar year. This rate is determined by adding all recordable injuries and computing the incidence rate using the following formula: Incidence Rate = Total Recordable Injuries x 200,000 ÷ Man-Hours

If two or more contestants have equal incidence rates, they will each be presented with an award. 

2021 APGA Safety Contest Winners

The 2021 APGA Safety Contest Winners will be announced at the 2021 APGA Annual Conference this July 25-28 in Santa Ana Pueblo, New Mexico.

Congratulations to the 2020 APGA Safety Contest Winners!

Congratulations to all 41 winners of the 2020 APGA Safety Contest! These gas systems highlight the dedication of APGA members to maintaining the highest safety standards within their system, their communities, and in the natural gas industry.

2020 APGA Safety Award Winners

Group A Winning Systems (≤ 8,000 Hour )

  • Town of Rangely Gas, CO
  • Gilmore City Municipal Gas Utility, IA

Group B Winning Systems ( 8,001 – 18,000 Hours)

  • City of Fort Morgan, CO
  • City of Americus, GA
  • Orange City Municipal Gas System, IA
  • Sioux Center Municipal Utilities, IA
  • City of Perryville, MO
  • Bolivar Utility Department, TN

Group C Winning Systems (18,001 – 38,000 Hours)

  • Scottsboro Water, Sewer & Gas Board, AL
  • Reedy Creek Energy Services, FL
  • City of Covington, GA
  • City of Winder, GA (5 YEAR WINNER)
  • Coon Rapids Municipal Utilities, IA
  • Easton Utilities, MD
  • Chambersburg Gas Department, PA
  • City of Ellensburg, WA

Group D Winning Systems (38,001 – 70,000 Hours)

  • Decatur Utilities, AL
  • Hartselle Utilities, AL
  • Henderson Municipal Gas, KY
  • City of Rocky Mount, NC
  • Chester County Natural Gas Authority, SC
  • Orangeburg Department of Public Utilities, SC
  • Watertown Municipal Utilities, SD
  • Paris-Henry County Public Utility District, TN

Group E Winning Systems (Over 70,001 Hours)

  • Clarke-Mobile Counties Gas District, AL
  • Huntsville Utilities, AL
  • City of Mesa Energy Resources, AZ
  • City of Tallahassee Gas Utility, FL (5 YEAR WINNER)
  • Lake Apopka Natural Gas District, FL (10 YEAR WINNER)
  • City of Lawrenceville, GA
  • Austin Utilities, MN
  • City Utilities of Springfield, MO
  • Corinth Gas & Water, MS
  • Greenville Utilities Commission, NC
  • City of Hamilton, OH
  • York County Natural Gas Authority, SC
  • Elk River Public Utility District, TN
  • Jefferson-Cocke County Utility District, TN
  • Knoxville Utilities Board, TN
  • Middle Tennessee Natural Gas Utility District, TN
  • Powell Clinch Utility District, TN


Please contact Simon Cook at scook@apga.org or the APGA general inquires email address at info@apga.org.